This week I began by sorting through all the rushes with the director. We came to a final list of usable shots that were enough to make a film approximately 2 minutes long, he then went on to edit the shots together until it was at picture lock, he consulted me about certain aspects throughout to make sure that we made the best possible video.

Next I began the research for the colour correction and manipulation stage. I began by looking online and I found a very useful and informative video tutorial on how to use the Lumetri colour panel in Adobe Premiere Pro CC 2015 which is the program I will be using to  colour correct in.

I then looked for advice from what professionals have said about the process. I found a web article where a profetional colour grader said

‘As far as color is concerned, commercials are all about the midtones. This is especially true of commercials that feature talent and aren’t simply a montage of product shots. In a narrative film, it’s perfectly okay (or in some cases even encouraged) to place mid tones/skin tones in a unique place.

For instance, you might be creating a really moody scene and want your actor’s faces to be underexposed, and you might achieve that by bringing down your midtones significantly… But on a commercial project you would almost never do this.

Commercials almost always benefit most from accurate, neutral, and pleasing midtones that are a touch on the bright side. Since the talent in any given commercial is essentially there to sell a product (even if the commercial isn’t pitchy), their appearance needs to be inviting and attractive, and the first step in achieving that look is by color correcting the mid tones in a way that brings up your talent’s skin to an optimal point.’

Noam Kroll. 2015. The Best Practices for Color Grading Commercials. [ONLINE] Available at:http://www.premiumbeat.com/blog/the-best-practices-for-color-grading-commercials/. [Accessed 5 May 2016].

After this I began research into the font that I will use for the titles at the end of the film.

I went on adobe Typekit website and the Premiere Pro font list to research some fonts that I may like to use. I found 4 Typkit fonts and 1 Premiere Pro fonts that may be suitable to use, they were

Acumim pro wideFira sans 2

I then went on adobe Typekit and the Premiere Pro font list to researched some fonts that I may like to use. I found 4 Typkit fonts and 1 Premiere Pro fonts that may be suitable to use, they wereLeelawadee UIMuseo sans condensedSkolar sans latin extended

I decided to go with the Premiere Pro font, Leelawadee UI as I thought it looked the most professional and easy to read.

The last thing that I researched this week was how to stabilize video. I noticed whilst looking at the rushes with the director that allot of the clips were very shaky as allot were shot with long telephoto lenses, Steadicam or handheld. I found a video tutorial on how to fix this

 

The impact that this week has had on my final video is that I found out what font i will use in the video, I will correct the shots with the midtones being slightly over exposed based on the suggestions of the professional Noam Kroll to make the picture more attractive. I think that I’ve done well finding the font as it looks very professional and follows the exact look what the director and I wanted. I think That I could have dome more research into the type of style that I want with the film but I have a good idea of what I want already.

This week I learned that to make a picture attractive for an advert I need to make the picture attractive by raising the midtones to an optimal point and make the skin on the talents faces to have accurate colour and exposed correctly or slightly over exposed. I also learned how to use the Lumetri colour panel  and how to stabilize video correctly and well in Adobe Premiere Pro CC 2015.

Next week I need too colour correct the film, give a look to the film, make and add the titles too the film and do a focus group to find out what my target audience thinks about my job doing the picture and colour and if I need to change anything.