This week I started with writing the proposal for my film. I also started looking at the codes and conventions for the genre of film that i’m making. I watched a film called High and Mighty which is a climbing documentary whilst at at film festival in week 1 researching the codes and convention of the genre that My film will be. This will impact my final product because it will show me what style to film the documentary in, what the audio is like and what the documentary should contain. I found out that A climbing documentary is filmed very cinematic with a lot of landscape shots and close up intense shots of the climber from a variety of angles including straight down, this is to make the film more intense. I also found that the documentary should contain interviews about the climb with the climber on location. I will now contain cinematic landscape shots of where the climb is and interviews with the climber in my film. I also looked at a visit wales advert to find out the cinematic and editing codes and conventions of a short adventure film. I found that it uses fast editing followed by a longer key shot that will have importance to the scene or narrative. This layout of editing is used to keep the audiences attention. The shots range from super wide shots of the landscape to close ups of peoples activity’s. These make for a visually stunning short film.

I also began primary research this week. I researched audio recording in windy situations as my film will be entirely shot outdoors. I tried recording an interview with the microphone in several different positions and locations and finally found that the best way to record clean audio in a windy environment is to have the interviewees back to the wind direction to block the wind and have the boom down low to get out of the direct wind and point the microphone upwards. This will impact my product because it will determine the position of the interview and the quality of the sound recording meaning that my film will be higher quality.

This week I’ve learned how to record clean audio in windy situations, I’ve also learned the codes and conventions of a climbing documentary and what to include in the production of one. The main problem that I’ve solved is how to record clean audio in the wind, I’ve also solved another problem that I had which was what to include in the documentary.

What I need to do next week – I need to make a presentation and present it to the class, then I need to vote for the films that will be made and get into a full production team and assign roles. I will also need to go on a location recce for whatever film i’m working on.