I was set with the task to create an online website portfolio. I intend to use the website to display my work to potential clients for freelance work. My initial ideas for my website were to keep it simple and minimalist and have a white and blue colour scheme. It needed to include a photography page, video page, about page and a contact page. Before This unit I had no skills in web design but I had use some of the adobe creative cloud programs so some of the skills were transferrable to adobe muse cc.

To help with the production of my website I first analysed two iother website portfolios to find the best features and see what to avoid and nclude in my website. I also created a research portfolio including font research, colour scheme research and a mood board of good website designs. I also used allot of youtube tutorials, here are some links to some of the videos I used;

 

 

The adobe muse inbuilt slideshow and contact widgets were very simple and easy to use. The YouTube video player widget I found to be more difficult to personalise the look and functions of the widget. The LR deck photography widget was very simple to use one you watched the video tutorial, although I wish that you could personalise it a bit more. For learning how to set up use and personalise all the widgets I use youtube tutorialonline muse forums.

I think that my websites design and style is a very modern and minimalist, exactly the look I was going for. The features are asy to use and functional. Its easy to read and find content. I think what makes a good website is aclean look that drwas a viewer in to find out more and I deffenetly think that kmy website does this by having a simle layout with thre small slideshows of my best work on the home page catching a viewers eye so they keep reading into the website.

I’ve tested my site in a browser and it works great. Its fast responsive and scales nicely to different screen sizes. There is one slow feature that I cant seem to do anything about and that’s accessing different folders in the photography page. This Is probably down to the widget that I used as it has to access my images from my Flickr account.

the main issue that I had to overcome is that I couldn’t use Avenir Next Condensed font like I wanted too as it wasn’t a web font so I had to make that logos and menu buttons in Photoshop and bring them into Muse as a PNG image file instead.

I did meet my original intentions as I created a sleek mo0dern looking stylish website portfolio that I think will draw viewers in to view the rest of my portfolio.

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 01.48.44

I’m very happy with the photography page. The widget I used (LR Deck) was easy to use and looks great. It gave me the look that I wanted which was miss matched positioning of my photos with no filler or borders between the photos. I also really like the light box feature in the widget.home page

I’m also very happy with the home page. I feel that its a simple and enticing home page that will draw the viewer in to the website.